On Saturday December 2nd, the Men’s Committee hosted The Bulldog Men’s Cashspiel. For the sixth consecutive year, the event was sold out with 24 teams representing 15 clubs from across Southern Ontario.


To our long-time sponsors, thank you for your continued generous support:

Congratulations go to Team Frans from Oakville Curling Club as winner of the early draw and overall champion. They took home the champion’s cheque of $1,000.

Team Frans (Oakville), 2017 Bulldog Champion. From left to right: Jason Chang (Event Chair), Scott Foster (second); missing Joe Frans (skip), Mike Anderson (third), Ken McDermot (lead)


Congratulations also go to Team Shinde from Dixie Curling Club who took home $700 for winning the late draw and a strong performance from East York’s Team Metcalfe who finished in the prizes. In total, we paid out over $4,000 in cash plus hundreds of dollars in prizes. Please see below for the final standings.

Team Shinde (Dixie), 2017 Bulldog Draw Winner. From left to right: Steve Giannini (lead), Craig Shinde (skip), Kevin McDonald (third), Chris Jamieson (second)


Lastly, I want to thank the people whose support made this event a success:

  • Club Manager, Carolyn Fleming & Club Administrator, Brittany Shulist for their pre-event support
  • Kevin, Joe, Angelo & Andrew for sweeping, pebbling and nipping quickly
  • Amanda, Kirsten & Brittany for keeping the beer flowing… and flowing…
  • Bela Szabo and Matt Barrett for taking your 50/50 money (among other duties)
  • Chef Mike Maddin and his crew for an amazing prime rib dinner
  • The curlers for showing skill and sportsmanship


We look forward to welcoming all teams back in 2018. If you or someone you know would like to sponsor and be part of this great bonspiel, please email



Jason Chang

Event Chair, The Bulldog Men’s Cashspiel



Final Standings


Draw 1

Winner and overall champion – Team Frans (Oakville)

2nd place – Team Webster (Oakville)

3rd place – Team Leermakers (Dixie)

4th place – Team McCullough (Thornhill)

5th place – Team Metcalfe (East York)


Draw 2

Winner and overall champion – Team Shinde (Dixie)

2nd place – Team Ellis (Leaside)

3rd place – Team Pokras (Richmond Hill)

4th place – Team Duguay (Oakville)

5th place – Team Newell (Royal Canadian)