Possible Labour Disruption

As of February 20th, 2016, Local 79 will be in a strike position or lock-out position with the City of Toronto.  The East York Curling Club facility is owned and operated by the City of Toronto.  All staff are Local 79 Employees.

 

Being in a legal strike position does not necessarily mean an immediate work stoppage. At this time it is business as usual, however in the event of a work stoppage the following procedures will take place:

 

  1. A Notice will be posted on the Website and Facebook;

 

  1. An e-mail will be sent to the League Representatives who will keep the leagues up-dated.

 

  1. The contact number is still 416-396-2816 as we can remotely access the messages and of course by e-mail at info@eastyorkcurling.ca.

 

  1. It is advisable that you take your equipment home this week as access to the Club will not be available. Equipment left in lockers will not be accessible until a strike has been resolved.

 

  1. Depending on the length of any potential strike, the Board will determine when the season will be completed and notify the Members as set out above.

 

  1. In the event that any potential strike is for a short period of time, the Members will be notified and new Draw Sheets will be posted.

2015/2016 Bonspiels

 

name date type/eligibility poster
Shades Bonspiel Saturday, November 7, 2015 Women Flyer
Bulldog Saturday, November 14, 2015 Men Flyer
Day Men – Masters Tuesday, November 17, 2015 Men Flyer
Brooms Spiel Saturday, November 28, 2015 Open Flyer
OCA Men’s Tankard Saturday, December 19 & Sunday, December 20, 2015 OCA Bonspiel
Game On! ‘Spiel Saturday, January 2, 2016 Little Rocks (ages 7 to 12) Flyer
TCA Goldline Men Saturday, January 9, 2016 TCA Men
Women’s Training Day Saturday, January 16, 2016 Women
Soap Spiel Saturday, January 23, 2016 Mixed (Individual Entry)
Bantam/Junior Bonspiel Saturday, February 6, 2016 Bantam & Juniors
Lads & Lassies Tuesday, February 9, 2016 Inter-league Mixed
Shuffle Up & Spiel Saturday, March 5, 2016 Open (Individual Entry) Flyer
Follia di Marzo Monday, March 7, 2016 Women Flyer
Olde Dawgs Tuesday, March 15, 2016 Men 55+ years Flyer
Tailender Saturday, April 9, 2016 Open Flyer
Chandler Cup Saturday, April 16, 2016 & Sunday, April 17, 2016 Open, Skins Format Flyer
Golf Tournament TBD Open
Summer Spiel Friday, June 10th, 2016 & Saturday June 11th, 2016 Open

Shuffle Up and Spiel!

Men of East York Curling Club!
ShuffleUpandSpiel

A lot of women expressed disappointment at not being able to participate at the Shuffle Up & Spiel (presented by Face to Face Games). So as of today, registration is open to everyone!!!

The Men’s section invites you to our inaugural Shuffle Up and Spiel on March 5, 2016. The event will pits curlers vs. gamers in a battle of wits on and off the ice! Highlights include:

– Two eight-end games of curling
– Non-stop gaming, including poker, board games, card games, black jack and a dart tournament
– Top-notch prizes of all sorts and sizes
– Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks to keep you going the whole day
– Event is open to curlers of all experience levels, including out-of-club and out-of-section members!

Individual entries for the event have begun at the club. Early bird entry fee of $50 is active if you get your entry in before February 1st (use the box at the club or find a Men’s committee member).

Hope to see a full house on March 5th!

– EYCC Men’s Section