OCA Best Western
Zone 7 B-Side Winners
January 4-6, 2013
Elana Sone
Theresa Currie
Karen Townsend
Michelle Nelles
on to Provincials
at Prince Edward Curling Club
January 18th to 20th

Jawney Bakers ‘Bulldog’ Wrap-up

The Jawny Bakers “Bulldog” Men’s Cashspiel – Wrap-up

On Saturday November 17th, the Men’s Committee hosted The Bulldog Men’s Cashspiel. The event was sold out with 24 teams representing 14 different curling clubs. Curlers came from across Southern Ontario, from nearby clubs such as the Royals and High Park to as far as Stratford, Bobcaygeon and Rochester, New York. East York was well represented by a strong contingent of six teams.

Congratulations go to Norm McGlaughlin (skip), Tom Worth, Scott Fraser and TJ Criscione from Leaside Curling Club as the overall champion. They took home the winner’s cheque of $1,000. Two teams from East York also made the money: Team Glenen (Matt Glenen, Scott Jenkins, Jason Chang, Greg Hartl) finished 2nd in the early draw and Team Grinspun (Yuval Grinspun, Chris Fowler, Matt Coutts, Marc Duez) placed 3rd in the late draw.

The event would not have been possible without the continued support of our title sponsor, Jawny Bakers Restaurant & Caters located in the East York community at St. Clair Ave. E. and O’Connor Dr. Jawny Bakers catered a fantastic lunch which kept the curlers well fed. Thank you very much!

I also want to recognize Amsterdam Brewery for supporting our event for the first time. Their generosity allowed us to give away some fantastic door and draw prizes.

I look forward to welcoming all teams back for the 2013 edition of The Bulldog Men’s Cashspiel. If your company is interested in becoming a sponsor of our event, please email us at bulldog@eastyorkcurling.ca.

Jason Chang
Event Chair, The Bulldog Men’s Cashspiel
Vice President, East York Curling Club

Final Standings

Draw 1
Winner – Team Duguay, Oakville
2nd place – Team Glenen, East York
3rd place – Team Martin, Oakville
4th place – Team McCullough, Thornhill

Draw 2
Winner and overall champion – Team McGlaughlin, Leaside
2nd place – Team Harrison, Bobcaygeon
3rd place – Team Grinspun, East York
4th place – Team Leermakers, Dixie